Lord of the Flies: Book Review

Lord of the Flies, by William Golding
Lord of the Flies, by William Golding

I had heard of this book several times before reading it, but it never intrigued me as much as it confused me. Lord of the Flies? Is that like some warped zoo for insects or something? I.e. I had heard of the title before, but never the plot. So the first time that I heard the plot was at church when my pastor used it as an example of the power of literature in changing people’s views and perspectives. (See? Go to church to find great books to read. :D)It sounded both scary and interesting. And of course if you know me, I like to fill up my literary resumé of classics. So I borrowed it at the library on Sunday.

Today I read it. I had planned my afternoon’s schedule rather well. Read from 2-3; write from 3-4; start getting ready for my ballet class afterwards. And I followed it almost to the dot, finishing Lord of the Flies at 3:05, which I consider pretty good. But I couldn’t set my mind to writing. I stared at the computer with my heart still beating nervously at the book’s plot. Terrifying, to say the least. To say the most? Disruptive. Bam! My schedule gone.

But here’s the gist.

Title: Lord of the Flies
Author: William Golding
Pages: 225
Genre: Suspense
Tense: Past
POV: Third person omnipotent
Rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars
Rated: PG12 (I know there’s no such thing but let’s just say 12 year olds can read it if they really want to.)

This isn’t even going to be a proper review (Not that any of my reviews are). I am really just way too impacted to write coherently on any other subject than this one. Darkness of the human soul! Amazing, amazing, amazing. The depiction of the characters was really crucial in this and it WORKED. I was scared to bits. It was really, really horrifying and terrifying at the same time. No, I am not going to get nightmares but those who are more prone to such dreams just might. Is it that scary? Yes. But brilliant. Honestly brilliant.

I recommend this book to all the people in the world as soon as they are allowed to read it. It really is kind of gruesome but at least there’s a point in all that blood. (Yes, violence!) And I think that it’ll continue to be a classic for many more years to come, because of its universally applicable messages. Oh Ralph. (I’m seriously impacted. I’m sorry that you guys aren’t getting a proper review. But everything was just good so just read it.) I’ll just say that when I reached the last page I was dismally saddened to find out that there wasn’t another chapter to go. What kind of closure is that?????

Ok I’m done. Read it. Just. Read. It. At the least you’ll get the satisfaction of saying that you read it.

Read it.

(Ok I’ll shut up now.)

 

 

 

 

 

 

Read it.

 

 

Leave a Reply

